110. Week Two – Lockdown

After one of the wettest winters on record the weather had improved.  There was high pressure over the UK and, although cold there was bright sunshine.  Perfect weather for people to go out and about.  Except it wasn’t really perfect to go out and about as the Coronavirus was establishing a foothold in the UK.  What had seemed very distant in China and moderately distant in Italy now seemed very close.  BBC reports talked about “flattening the curve” by social distancing, most days there was a political briefing, the number of infections had risen, the number of deaths with Covid 19 had increased – there had been deaths at Derriford Hospital.  The weekend weather was fine and some people flocked to natural  beauty spots, beaches and parks.

The Coronavirus Act 2020 was given Royal assent on 25th March, fast tracked through Parliament and came into force on 26th March.  The aims of the Act are

  • to give further powers to the government to slow the spread of the virus
  • to reduce the resourcing and administrative burden on public bodies
  • to limit the impact of potential staffing shortages on the delivery of public services.

There has been some criticism of the Police, suggesting that some Constabularies are being heavy handed about enforcing the Act.  Derbyshire Constabulary has been the most vocally criticised for using drones to shame people who have visited beauty spots. I am obviously too compliant.  I have been told… stay home, save lives, protect the NHS and that is what I have done.  I didn’t leave the house for 10 days, other than to sit in the garden.  Since then I’ve gone for a walk once a day for an hour or so, have been to a local shop for bread and milk and that is that.

My plans to catch up with all of Joe Wick’s PE sessions and to join online Barre, Pilates, etc have been stimeyed as I just haven’t felt well enough.  Walking up hill has been a struggle as my chest still hurts.

I have missed seeing my friends and especially my mum.  However, Whatsapp and Zoom have allowed me to meet with them.  We’ve have a Zoom cheese and wine party (I didn’t have either) and I’ve spoken to my mum frequently.  I’ve spoken to Marcus in Seattle, he has been working from home with his wife, I’ve spoken to Miles in Cheltenham.. he and Corey, his fiancee have both had all the symptoms of Covid 19: fever, cough, no sense of taste or smell, fortunately, they are young and healthy and on the mend.

 

Author: fionaosmaston

I live in Plymouth, Devon with my husband Nick and near my parents Sandy and Sheena. Our three children, Marcus, Phoebe and Miles are grown up. I am a geographer and love teaching Geography. My current role is as an Assistant Vice Principal in an inner city comprehensive school where I lead on coaching and initial teacher training. In August 2017 I was diagnosed with invasive lobular carcinoma and following a skin sparing mastectomy and endrocrine/hormone treatment I am now awaiting a final reconstruction. These views are my own and writing this story has helped me come to terms with where I am in this interlude of life which has been dominated by breast cancer.

Leave a comment