54. The Ball – with guests

My youngest son and his girlfriend had travelled down from Gloucester to attend the Ball, my daughter was home and was coming along, my husband, Nick had his dinner jacket ready to go.  I’d managed to sell 4 tables plus another couple of seats, we’d all selected our menus.  The Dancers had dressed the tables beautifully with primroses, little cards and place names.  They had worked incredibly hard and the ballroom looked fantastic.  In front of the stage we had a chair each with our feather fans strategically placed there.

Our guests arrived and had a drink and then came through to the Ballroom.  They were “wowed”. The following pictures show the before including our fabulous choreographer in the blue gown and compare Judi Spiers from the BBC who gave her time for free.

During the auction we were summoned to the writing room as it was time to get changed… this is when the fight or flight reflex started to kick in.  I could sneak past the girls and run out… but how could I let them down.  I didn’t!  We got changed and as we received a huge cheer as we walked into the Ballroom.  Our choreographer, Shelley, gave a great speech with a poem she read, the ladies from M&S Lingerie Dept had popped in, one of the Consultant’s from Derriford spoke and then this video was played which explained what we were doing and why.

The video before the dance

 

 

Author: fionaosmaston

I live in Plymouth, Devon with my husband Nick and near my parents Sandy and Sheena. Our three children, Marcus, Phoebe and Miles are grown up. I am a geographer and love teaching Geography. My current role is as an Assistant Vice Principal in an inner city comprehensive school where I lead on coaching and initial teacher training. In August 2017 I was diagnosed with invasive lobular carcinoma and following a skin sparing mastectomy and endrocrine/hormone treatment I am now awaiting a final reconstruction. These views are my own and writing this story has helped me come to terms with where I am in this interlude of life which has been dominated by breast cancer.

Leave a comment